Not that long ago, the only people who worried about gluten were people with celiac disease. But things have changed. Plenty of people, with or without a diagnosis, are reducing their gluten consumption (even though doctors have their reservations about gluten-free diets). The interest in gluten-free foods is obvious in just about every aisle of the grocery store.
But for all of the gluten-free breads and alternative flours, grocery stores stock many foods you might incorrectly assume are gluten-free. These unexpected sources of gluten can cause health problems for people with celiac disease. And they can trip you up if you’re eating a gluten-free diet to feel more energetic, more focused, or healthier. Read on for some foods containing gluten.
1. Ice cream
Let’s start with one of the worst surprises. Many flavors of ice cream unexpectedly contain gluten, which is bad news if you have celiac disease or you’re on a gluten-free diet. VeryWell reports it’s not just cookies and cream or chocolate chip cookie dough that might contain gluten. Manufacturers produce plenty of other flavors on the same equipment as gluten-containing products. So you should read the label every time you buy a carton of ice cream.